So CHALLENGE me!

1 Jun

I dare you……

You may or may not know that I live in the happy capital of our fair country, Australia! It’s been a fairly recent move (nearly at the 1 year anniversary, June the 13th!!) and it’s been a tough one! If you don’t know much about Canberra, it’s best you go take a peek at this link (thanks to the BEAUTIFUL Ali)! WARNING: Maybe best not to read the link whilst you are supposed to be working, the boss might get suspicious when you start snorting coffee through your nose and choking as you try and stifle your hysterical laughter. You have been warned!!

My first response when people ask me if I like living here (*questions self* how do I break it to them gently??) is “It’s a very beautiful place.” Which is usually enough to get me off the hook, but sometimes they keep looking at me silently, waiting for more of an answer, to which I reply “But I REALLY miss my family and friends in Brisbane and GOSH this place is not terribly fashionable!”

AND.IT’S.NOT

I am formally trained in Fashion and Textiles Design and for a person that thrives on a culture of fashion, this is the last city one should move to when looking to be ‘inspired’! HENCE my new CHALLENGE! I have decided that, one day a week I will take my trusty camera to the streets and (attempt to) snap pics of inspiring style ensembles around the suburbs of my fair capital city!!!
If you also live in Canberra, please comment on my blog and let me know where YOU think I can find the fashionable folk in this current WinterWonderland!!! After all, I think I’m going to need all the help I can get….stay tuned for more pics in the CHALLENGE editions!!!

Love and other indoor sports, PYT

3 Responses to “So CHALLENGE me!”

  1. gfactor June 1, 2008 at 6:26 am #

    Oh dear – I think you moved to the wrong place for fashion, etc! The public service, especially, is a style black hole! I’ve just moved here too – about 18 months ago.
    Maybe get a table at Cream in Civic, sit there and watch the pedestrians. I have seen a few stylish folks from this vantage point. Failing that – the markets, the Dendy, Kingston on a Saturday night?

  2. Lili June 1, 2008 at 10:48 pm #

    I know money doesn’t buy taste, but have you tried Manuka? Or however it’s spelled! There are a few expensive cafes around there… from memory… could also be a few mutton specials… pink tracksuits anyone?!

    Failing that, you could hang out around parliament and hope for an Australian Cricket Team Tracksuit. ❤

  3. Ninaribena June 11, 2008 at 9:51 am #

    Ok… you all need to visit http://www.canberrasgotstyle.blogspot.com Style in Canberra is never right in your face, but I have made it my mission to showcase design and the fabulous and bring it to attention. Please don’t believe you have moved to the wasteland capital, style is everywhere, you just have to go and find it!

    love Ninaribena xxx

Leave a Reply

