These are a few of my FAVORITE things!

6 Jun

Being completely inspired by the lovely julaberry, I have decided to collate a little list of my fav things about Winter.  Those who know me, know that I am a tropical heat lover, born and raised on the beaches of Australia’s Sunshine Coast.  The cold weather is not something I thrive in, so moving to one of the coldest states in Australia really wasn’t my idea of a fabulous time on any level of the Fun-o-meter!!!

HOWEVER, I thought it might be fun to push myself to find the good in winter.  Push, PUSH, PUUUUUUUSH………

#1.  Being able to wrap my freezing mitts around steaming hot cups of gourmet coffee all day.

#2.  Being able to wear jeans 24/7 and not have to worry about the legs eleven for a few months.

#3.  Baking like a wild thing.  All that comfort food that is sooooo good in the cold weather, muffins, roasts, pies, cakes….

#4.  Wearing millions of layers of clothing (and perhaps a girdle?), to disguise the fact that you’ve just eaten ALL the baking listed above!!

#5.  And…….and….ummm………………. I’m out!!  I thought I could like Winter for at least 5 reasons, but damn…….I can’t even FAKE it!!!  Now I am off to do a bit of this:

because:

4 Responses to “These are a few of my FAVORITE things!”

  1. Ninaribena June 6, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    Awww… c’mon!
    1. I loooove the fog – haunting trees and hiding hills in fog. You could not suppress my joy.
    2. Dressing up in coats hats scarves and gloves – and maybe some fur (can’t do that on the Gold coast! or Perth where I’m from originally)
    3. Crispy frost on the grass
    4. Watching the frost melt and send up steam when the sun hits it
    5. Crisp, fresh sunny winter days in Canberra, like no-where else.
    and one extra
    6. Chilli blend hot chocolate at Koko Black when it’s reeeeeaaallllly cold outside!

  2. Justin June 8, 2009 at 12:23 pm #

    beautiful pics as usual! but come onnnnn it doesn’t even snow there. or does it?

    • prettyoungthing June 9, 2009 at 9:32 am #

      Funny you should mention that, they have forecasted possible snow this week…so HA!!!

  3. LaLa June 9, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    CENTRAL HEATING! I LOVE central heating!

Leave a Reply

